Catherine Doyle

Author

 

BIO

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon

Catherine Doyle grew up in the West of Ireland. She holds a BA in Psychology and an MA in Publishing. She is the author of the Young Adult Blood for Blood trilogy (Vendetta, Inferno and Mafiosa), which is often described as Romeo and Juliet meets the Godfather. 

Her award-winning and bestselling middle grade début, The Storm Keeper's Island is set on the magical island of Arranmore, where her grandparents grew up. It has been translated into 20 languages to date. The sequel, The Lost Tide Warriors, was published in July 2019, with the third to follow.

Catherine's modern re-imagining of Charles Dickens' A Christmas Carol, titled The Miracle on Ebenezer Street, will publish with Puffin books in October 2020.

Aside from more conventional interests in movies, running and travelling, Catherine also enjoys writing about herself in the third-person.

The Storm Keeper's Island

An island that never forgets.

A story you'll remember forever.

WINNER OF THE BAMB YOUNG READERS – MIDDLE GRADE AWARD 2018​

WINNER OF THE INDEPENDENT BOOKSHOP WEEK CHILDREN'S AWARD, 2019

INDEPENDENT BOOKSELLERS BOOK OF THE SEASON, WINTER 2018

WATERSTONES BOOK OF THE MONTH

THE BOOKSELLER BOOK OF THE MONTH

EASON'S BOOK OF THE MONTH

DUBRAY BOOK OF THE MONTH

AMAZON.COM BOOK OF THE MONTH

'Magical in every way.' EOIN COLFER

'Funny, dark and blazingly beautiful.' KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE
'So magical and wild that it's like being swept away by the sea.' KATHERINE RUNDELL

'Imaginative and exhilirating.' REBECCA STEAD

'Magical ... An enchanting book. It's beautifully written.' MARIAN KEYES

'Heart-wrenching and heart-stopping, this is one gorgeous novel.' THE NEW YORK TIMES

 

'Acutely observed sibling dynamics, a house full of magical candles, and a vivid sense of history interwoven with Irish legend make for a standout novel, written in the vein of Susan Cooper and Pat O’Shea.' THE GUARDIAN

 

'Doyle is a supremely confident writer who manages to embrace some of fantasy’s most familiar tropes while never quite letting us feel that we’ve been here before. This is a book that should have any child glued to their deckchair.' THE TELEGRAPH

'The book of the season (if not the year) has to be this beautifully written fantasy adventure.' THE IRISH INDEPENDENT

'Doyle’s prose explodes with lyrical language as she deftly explores themes of loss, guilt, and how memory weighs on one’s soul...Doyle proves with this exquisite debut that she is a middle-grade fiction author to watch.' BOOKLIST *STARRED REVIEW

'Fans of Harry Potter or Percy Jackson can add Fionn Boyle as a generous and brave hero from the Emerald Isle.' SCHOOL LIBRARY CONNECTION *STARRED REVIEW

'Doyle infuses every aspect of the novel with the richness of Irish folklore and culture: readers will be captivated by descriptions of the Island’s beauty and magical history.' SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL *STARRED REVIEW
 

Illustration by Bill Bragg

When Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins to stir beneath his feet...

 

Once in a generation, Arranmore Island chooses a new Storm Keeper to wield its power and keep its magic safe from enemies. The time has come for Fionn’s grandfather, a secretive and eccentric old man, to step down. Soon, a new Keeper will rise. But deep underground, someone has been waiting for Fionn. As the battle to become the island’s next champion rages, a more sinister magic is waking up, intent on rekindling an ancient war.

 

Book two in the Storm Keeper series:

The Lost Tide Warriors

'Doyle’s talent for creating windswept, stormy tension and physical threat sweeps all before it.' –  THE DAILY MAIL

In the spellbinding sequel to The Storm Keeper's Island,  Fionn Boyle finds himself at the heart of the fight for the island's survival.

Fionn Boyle has been Storm Keeper of Arranmore for less than six months when thousands of terrifying Soulstalkers arrive on the island. The empty-eyed followers of the dreaded sorceress Morrigan have come to raise their leader and Fionn is powerless to stop them. The Storm Keeper's magic has deserted him and with his grandfather's memory waning, Fionn must rely on his friends Shelby and Sam to help him summon Dagda's army of merrows.

But nobody else believes the ferocious sea creatures even exist. And how can he prove he's right without any magic? As Fionn begins his search for the lost army, the other islanders prepare for invasion. The battle to save Arranmore has begun.

'Sparkles with wit and wisdom ... The Lost Tide Warriors is an unputdownable adventure.'  –  ABI ELPHINSTONE

'Doyle tempers the story’s ancient magical thrust with an engaging everyday drama... Fionn’s relationship with his grandfather is surely one of the most tender inter-generational relationships to find a voice in children’s literature' –  THE IRISH TIMES

'A masterfully written, truly legendary adventure. The Lost Tide Warriors feels like a journey across the darkest, wildest and most beautiful seas.' 

–  SOPHIE ANDERSON

'Gripping fantasy adventure which cleverly reignites Irish mythology for modern readers.' –  THE IRISH INDEPENDENT

'Even better than its wonderful predecessor. It's laugh out loud funny and heart-breaking in equal measure, with stakes so high that you can barely catch your breath until you turn the last page.' –  LOUISE O'NEILL

Book three in the Storm Keeper series:

A week has passed since Fionn faced Morrigan on the shores of Arranmore and said goodbye to his grandfather. Now Morrigan's brothers stalk the island in search of anyone with the power to threaten them, whilst the Merrows struggle to keep the growing forces of Black Point Rock at bay.

And in an unknown layer of the island, an enchanted oak tree lies hidden, protecting the knowledge of Dadga's grave – the tomb of the last sorcerer. For Fionn, Shelby and Sam, Dagda is the only hope of defeating Morrigan. The race is on to find him before it's too late.

The Lightning Tree

 

The Miracle on Ebenezer Street

George and his father are about to spend their third Christmas without George's mother. Since she died, Hugo Bishop has thrown himself into his work, and has no time for George - and he definitely has no time for Christmas. It feels like they're living life in black and white.

Then, George stumbles across Marley's Curiosity Shop. There he finds a mysterious snow globe, which - though George can't quite understand how - appears to show a scene from George's past. A Christmas in which he and his family were together, and happy...

That night, George and his father are swept on an adventure to three Christmases - past, present, and future. With a little bit of hope, and just a touch of magic, can they begin living life in full colour again?

Pre-order here
Easons pre-order here

Old Marley's magic was beginning to stir...

A modern reimagining of Charles Dickens'

beloved classic,  A Christmas Carol

Coming October 1st, 2020

The Blood for Blood Trilogy

Vendetta

Inferno

Mafiosa

 
 

Upcoming Events

CONTACT

Agent: Claire Wilson, Rogers, Coleridge & White

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Classroom Resources:

- Teachers Notes

- Activity Pack

- For personalised PDF posters, please use the contact form