top of page

Catherine Doyle

Author

Bio

BIO

CatherineDoyleHeadshot.jpg

Catherine Doyle lives in the West of Ireland. She holds a BA in Psychology and an MA in Publishing. Her work, which includes Middle Grade and Young Adult fiction, has been published in over 25 languages.

Her award-winning and bestselling middle grade STORM KEEPER trilogy is set on the magical island of Arranmore, where her grandparents grew up. Her modern re-imagining of Charles Dickens' A Christmas Carol, THE MIRACLE ON EBENEZER STREET, was published by Puffin books in October 2020. Her most recent MG novel, THE LOST GIRL KING, was released in September 2022.

 

Her bestselling YA novel, TWIN CROWNS, co-authored with Katherine Webber, published in May 2022. The sequel, CURSED CROWNS, releases in April 2023.

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
Twin Crowns
Gradient

TWIN CROWNS

Twin Crowns.jpg

Two sisters. One throne. Who will rise to power and wear the crown?

 

Wren Greenrock has always known that one day she would steal her sister's place in the palace. Trained from birth to avenge her parents' murder and usurp the princess, she will do anything to rise to power and protect the community of witches she loves.

Princess Rose Valhart knows that with power comes responsibility including marriage into a brutal kingdom. Life outside the palace walls is a place to be feared and she is soon to discover that it's wilder than she ever imagined.

Twin sisters separated at birth and raised into entirely different worlds are about to get to know each other's lives a whole lot better...

'I was thoroughly bewitched by this marvelous book! Don't miss it!'

Sarah J Maas, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

'An absolute delight from start to finish. Twin Crowns is a dazzling gem of a book.'

Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

'Twin Crowns is so joyous that days after reading, I'm still grinning.' Roshani Chokshi, New York Times Bestselling Author

Children's Books
Insta feed .jpg

THE LOST GIRL KING

Amy and Liam Bell have been packed off to stay at Gran's house in the wilds of Connemara for the summer. Out for a walk on the first morning of their holiday, they trace the flight of a hawk to a nearby waterfall – only to watch the bird disappear through it. Intrigued, the children follow and soon realise they've discovered the entrance to Tír na nÓg, the legendary land of eternal youth.

But they've been tricked. Almost immediately Liam is captured by a troop of headless horsemen who take him to Tarlock, the ruling sorcerer of Tír na nÓg, who is seeking the bones of a human child for a sinister new spell.

Packed with edge-of-your seat adventure, incredible imagination, humour and warmth, The Lost Girl King is the rare kind of story that has you reading long past lights out.

'A thrilling adventure - loveable characters, magical folklore and a seriously scary villain. Truly one of the best fantasy stories I've ever read.' 

A.F. Steadman, bestselling author of Skandar and the Unicorn Thief

Order from Amazon

'A glorious gulp of a summer adventure.'

Piers Torday, author of The Last Wild

THE STORM KEEPER'S ISLAND

An island that never forgets.

A story you'll remember forever.

WINNER OF THE BAMB YOUNG READERS – MIDDLE GRADE AWARD 2018​

WINNER OF THE INDEPENDENT BOOKSHOP WEEK CHILDREN'S AWARD, 2019

INDEPENDENT BOOKSELLERS BOOK OF THE SEASON, WINTER 2018

WATERSTONES BOOK OF THE MONTH

THE BOOKSELLER BOOK OF THE MONTH

EASON'S BOOK OF THE MONTH

DUBRAY BOOK OF THE MONTH

AMAZON.COM BOOK OF THE MONTH

'Magical in every way.' EOIN COLFER

'Funny, dark and blazingly beautiful.' KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE
'So magical and wild that it's like being swept away by the sea.' KATHERINE RUNDELL

'Imaginative and exhilirating.' REBECCA STEAD

'Magical ... An enchanting book. It's beautifully written.' MARIAN KEYES

'Heart-wrenching and heart-stopping, this is one gorgeous novel.' THE NEW YORK TIMES

 

'Acutely observed sibling dynamics, a house full of magical candles, and a vivid sense of history interwoven with Irish legend make for a standout novel, written in the vein of Susan Cooper and Pat O’Shea.' THE GUARDIAN

 

'Doyle is a supremely confident writer who manages to embrace some of fantasy’s most familiar tropes while never quite letting us feel that we’ve been here before. This is a book that should have any child glued to their deckchair.' THE TELEGRAPH

'The book of the season (if not the year) has to be this beautifully written fantasy adventure.' THE IRISH INDEPENDENT

'Doyle’s prose explodes with lyrical language as she deftly explores themes of loss, guilt, and how memory weighs on one’s soul...Doyle proves with this exquisite debut that she is a middle-grade fiction author to watch.' BOOKLIST *STARRED REVIEW

'Fans of Harry Potter or Percy Jackson can add Fionn Boyle as a generous and brave hero from the Emerald Isle.' SCHOOL LIBRARY CONNECTION *STARRED REVIEW

'Doyle infuses every aspect of the novel with the richness of Irish folklore and culture: readers will be captivated by descriptions of the Island’s beauty and magical history.' SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL *STARRED REVIEW
 

Illustration by Bill Bragg

When Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins to stir beneath his feet...

 

Once in a generation, Arranmore Island chooses a new Storm Keeper to wield its power and keep its magic safe from enemies. The time has come for Fionn’s grandfather, a secretive and eccentric old man, to step down. Soon, a new Keeper will rise. But deep underground, someone has been waiting for Fionn. As the battle to become the island’s next champion rages, a more sinister magic is waking up, intent on rekindling an ancient war.

Book two in the Storm Keeper trilogy:

THE LOST TIDE WARRIORS

TLTW_CVR_GREEN.jpg

'Doyle’s talent for creating windswept, stormy tension and physical threat sweeps all before it.' –  THE DAILY MAIL

In the spellbinding sequel to The Storm Keeper's Island,  Fionn Boyle finds himself at the heart of the fight for the island's survival.

Fionn Boyle has been Storm Keeper of Arranmore for less than six months when thousands of terrifying Soulstalkers arrive on the island. The empty-eyed followers of the dreaded sorceress Morrigan have come to raise their leader and Fionn is powerless to stop them. The Storm Keeper's magic has deserted him and with his grandfather's memory waning, Fionn must rely on his friends Shelby and Sam to help him summon Dagda's army of merrows.

But nobody else believes the ferocious sea creatures even exist. And how can he prove he's right without any magic? As Fionn begins his search for the lost army, the other islanders prepare for invasion. The battle to save Arranmore has begun.

'Sparkles with wit and wisdom ... The Lost Tide Warriors is an unputdownable adventure.'  

–  ABI ELPHINSTONE

'Doyle tempers the story’s ancient magical thrust with an engaging everyday drama... Fionn’s relationship with his grandfather is surely one of the most tender inter-generational relationships to find a voice in children’s literature' –  THE IRISH TIMES

'A masterfully written, truly legendary adventure. The Lost Tide Warriors feels like a journey across the darkest, wildest and most beautiful seas.' 

–  SOPHIE ANDERSON

'Gripping fantasy adventure which cleverly reignites Irish mythology for modern readers.' –  THE IRISH INDEPENDENT

'Even better than its wonderful predecessor. It's laugh out loud funny and heart-breaking in equal measure, with stakes so high that you can barely catch your breath until you turn the last page.' –  LOUISE O'NEILL

Book three in the Storm Keeper trilogy:

THE STORM KEEPERS' BATTLE

Fionn Boyle, Storm Keeper of Arranmore, is facing the fight of his life. The terrifying all-powerful sorceress Morrigan has been raised from the dead and has sealed off the island from all help.


Fionn is the only thing that stands between her and a dark future. He's got to find a way to defeat her. But there are some terrible choices in store for Fionn as the dark sorcerer begins to take his nearest and dearest for her own. With only two candles left to burn, will Fionn master his powers in time to stop her?

TSKB_cvr.jpg

The epic conclusion to the Storm Keeper trilogy...

'A truly epic finale to one of the best trilogies of recent years, Doyle has once again suffused this telling with her trademark humour and magic. I read Fionn's tale with my heart in my mouth.'  –  KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE

'WHAT an ending to an amazing trilogy... if you like your action-adventure bursting at the seams with imagination and heartfelt humour, you couldn't do better.'  –  ROSS MONTGOMERY

'Over three years, Doyle has created a thrilling trio of books for young fantasy lovers to disappear into, while proving her worth as one of the most interesting Irish children's authors of her generation.'  –  THE IRISH TIMES

'A roaring, twisting, hurricane of a book... The clever blend of Irish mythology, adventure, friendship and magic makes this a standout trilogy.'  –  THE IRISH INDEPENDENT

The Miracle on Ebenezer Street

MiracleCover.jpg

A modern reimagining of Charles Dickens'

beloved classic, A Christmas Carol

George and his father are about to spend their third Christmas without George's mother. Since she died, Hugo Bishop has thrown himself into his work, and has no time for George - and he definitely has no time for Christmas. It feels like they're living life in black and white.

Then, George stumbles across Marley's Curiosity Shop. There he finds a mysterious snow globe, which - though George can't quite understand how - appears to show a scene from George's past. A Christmas in which he and his family were together, and happy...

That night, George and his father are swept on an adventure to three Christmases - past, present, and future. With a little bit of hope, and just a touch of magic, can they begin living life in full colour again?

SHORTLISTED FOR THE CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS

'Action-packed, full of imagination... Doyle writes beautifully, so it's no wonder she's won so many awards.' –  THE INDEPENDENT

'A heartwarming retelling of Charles Dickens' A Christmas Carol.' – THE DAILY MAIL

'An instant Christmas Classic.' – THE IRISH TIMES

'Simply spellbinding.' – INEWS

'A well-balanced, well-told Christmas story as heartwarming as you could wish for.' – BOOKTRUST

The Blood for Blood Trilogy

Vendetta

Inferno

Mafiosa

Other YA

CONTACT

Agent: Claire Wilson, Rogers, Coleridge & White

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Thanks! Message sent.

Classroom Resources:

- Teachers Notes

- Activity Pack

- For personalised PDF posters, please use the contact form 

Contact
bottom of page